The ESTRO Guidelines Committee (former Advisory Committee for Radiation Oncology Practice (ACROP)) was formed in December 2012. Its aim is to advise the ESTRO Board and respective ESTRO councils on the following key areas:

  • Development and prioritisation of clinical and technical guidelines in the field of Radiation Oncology.

  • Additional options for ESTRO to contribute to multidisciplinary guidelines involving other professional oncology societies both within Europe (e.g. ECCO) and internationally (e.g. ASTRO, UICC).

  • The potential impact of emerging and draft legislation and/or advisory documentation from the EU that may impact on European Radiation Oncology.

  • Highlight additional initiatives within the EU that may be important to the strategic development of European Radiation Oncology.

  • Strategic assessment of any other documents, guidelines and miscellaneous information that may impact on clinical service development within the discipline of Radiation Oncology.

The Guidelines Committee procedure policy (SOP) can be read here.

To submit a guideline proposal for the consideration of the Guidelines Committee, please fill out the guideline checklist available here and return the completed checklist to Eralda Azizaj.


The Guidelines Committee consists of the Chair of the committee; representatives from other ESTRO standing committees and guideline sub-group leaders.

Chair: Fiona McDonald, London, UK

Physics Committee representative: Coen Hurkmans, Eindhoven, The Netherlands

Physics Committee representative: Jeroen Van de Kamer, Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Radiobiology Committee representative: Laure Marignol, Dublin, Ireland

RTT Committee representative: Yat Man Tsang, Northwood, United Kingdom

RTT Committee representative: Rita Simoes, London, United Kingdom

GEC-ESTRO Committee representative: Panagiotis Papagiannis, Athens, Greece

GEC-ESTRO Committee representative and H&N sub-group leader: Luca Tagliaferri, Rome, Italy

(Former) Clinical Committee representative: Peter Hoskin, Northwood, United Kingdom

Lower GI sub-group leader: Antonietta Gambacorta, Rome, Italy

Breast sub-group leader: Philip Poortmans, Antwerp, Belgium

Lung sub-group leader: Sara Ramella, Rome, Italy

CNS sub-group leader: Maximilian Niyazi, Tubingen, Germany

RTT sub-group leader: Monica Buijs, Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Prostate sub-group leader: Julia Murray, London, UK

Education Council Observer: Jesper Grau Eriksen, Aarhus, Denmark

National Societies Committee (NSC) Observer: Barbara Jereczek-Fossa, Milan, Italy

Young ESTRO Committee Observer: Pierre Montay-Gruel, Antwerp, Belgium

The committee is contactable through Eralda Azizaj at the ESTRO office.


Past Chairs:

Claus Belka, Munich, Germany