With the commitment to ensure that radiation oncology is recognised as a major contributor for cancer cure, the Stakeholders Council is responsible for shaping  relations with the ESTRO stakeholders, within and outside the Society.

The channels that the Council monitors and engages with are:

  • ESTRO members, and potential members

  • National Societies in the field of radiotherapy

  • National and international policy-makers

  • Industry

  • Other professional oncology societies

  • Patients and patients’ advocates.

To position radiation oncology appropriately within the multidisciplinary setting and in cancer policies, the Stakeholders Council:

  • Defines the advocacy and stakeholders’ plans

  • Forges partnerships with a broad range of stakeholders:

    • Collaboration on projects with other societies

    • Endorsement of projects

    • Endorsement and drafting of position papers  

    • Letters of intent and MoUs.

  • Defines the membership strategy, and has a dedicated membership officer

  • Oversees the activities of the relevant ESTRO committees and task forces

President: Anna Kirby, London, UK

Past-President: Ben Slotman, Amsterdam, The Netherlands 

President-Elect: Mathias Guckenberger, Zurich, Switzerland

Membership Officer: Elizabeth Forde, Dublin, Ireland

Board representative: Nuria Jornet, Barcelona, Spain

Board representative: Marc Voijs, Maastricht, The Netherlands

Board representative: Dirk Verellen, Antwerp, Belgium


Patient Advisory Group liaison: Joanna Kazmierska, Poznan, Poland

National Societies' Committee representative: Barbara Jereczek, Milan, Italy

ROSQ Committee representative: Mary Coffey, Dublin, Ireland